byee byee nisaki beach hotel - Reisverslag uit Nisákion, Griekenland van Hilde Bos - WaarBenJij.nu byee byee nisaki beach hotel - Reisverslag uit Nisákion, Griekenland van Hilde Bos - WaarBenJij.nu

byee byee nisaki beach hotel

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Hilde

05 Mei 2015 | Griekenland, Nisákion

Week number 3 has also gone by and I have to say that I am starting to like my job more over here! The nationalities of the guests are becoming more mixed. Besides the French guests we now also have a lot of English and German guests, which is good because now I can actually have a conversation with the guests, which is 95% of my job. Hopefully by the end of the summer I'll be fluent in French and German!
I have tried to learn the Greek language, but it is very difficult since there are not a lot of people speaking Greek here. I have learnt good morning (kalimera), good afternoon (kalispera), goodnight (kali nichta), enjoy your meal (kali orexi) and how are you? (tikani). I think that's enough for now :).

The other 5% of the job is doing activities. Everyone from the team has 1 activity in the morning and 1 in the afternoon. In the morning I am in charge of the stretching or yoga class, I love giving that! It is really nice and relaxing and the view from where I give the class is amazing! We look at the beach while doing yoga, it is like paradise :)! In the afternoon I either stay at the mini-club entertaining the children or I host a sports event like volleybal, waterpolo, jeu de boules, darts or ping pong. And then there's the night entertainment. The first week we had a show every night, but that is going to be different. From now on we'll have 3 shows a week. The other days there will be live music and we will have to talk to the guests all evening to keep them entertained. I know it sounds easy, getting paid for just talking to people. But it is actually pretty difficult. It can be pretty exhausting to put on a smile 24/7 and always be happy and talking to the guests. My colleagues tell me that at first it is strange, but that I'll get used to it. Hopefully I will !
This week we had a welcome show, where I got to sing again and we'll also have an Abba show, where I'll get to dance and sing a few songs :).
They also asked me to play the piano for half an hour each day. Ofcourse that's amazing, getting paid to play the piano. Unfortunately the piano did not sound as beautifully as it looked like, so I don't think I'll be playing again after my last performance.

Since they wanted me here specifically to play the piano, I can now move to a different hotel. I have asked if it is possible and it is! They are moving me to another hotel in Korfu. This one is closer to town and I already know some people that'll be in my team. I will be in charge of the fitness, which means giving the yoga and stretching classes in the morning and in the afternoon I'll be doing aqua gym, zumba, aerobics and total dance fit. All very fun I think , so I am very excited to get started in the new hotel. It does mean that I'll have to work hard the next few weeks to put together the classes, since I did not have the fitness training at the seminar week, but I think it will be worth it! Hopefully I'll like it better over there ! I'll keep you updatet! Byee

  • 09 Mei 2015 - 12:59

    Renie:

    Hoi Hilde,

    Leuk om zo je belevenissen te lezen. Veel plezier.

    Groetjes
    Renie

  • 14 Juni 2015 - 01:04

    Elisa:

    Hee moppie! Leuk om je verhalen te lezen!! Ben benieuwd hoe het in dit hotel is.. Hoop dat je laptop van pas komt bij de fitness lessen en alle zooi die je tussendoor nog moet regelen. Geniet ervan, en voornamelijk van het weer want 'zomer' kunnen we het in Nederland nog niet echt noemen. Tot snel lieve Hil x

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Hilde

Actief sinds 29 Nov. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 313
Totaal aantal bezoekers 20579

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Juni 2016 - 28 Augustus 2016

summer '16

29 December 2015 - 23 Januari 2016

2016

14 April 2015 - 17 Juli 2015

Animation @ Greece!

01 December 2013 - 29 Mei 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: